top of page

The Grace of God - And a Split Second

I am a dreamer. A total pie-in-the-sky, can’t hold my feet to the ground dreamer. It’s a quality I love about myself. To be completely honest, it’s actually something I have spent my life being a little smug about. For every person that I ran into who had no idea what they wanted to do with their lives, or even their free time, I had answers. My husband will attest to the fact that my dreams and visions are like a never-ending stream. In my most smug moments, I considered myself a visionary.

So it came as a bit of a come-down (ok, a big come-down) a few years ago, when I realized that dreaming was just another way of protecting myself from DOING. Oh yes. If I was having big dreams and big ideas, I could almost feel as though I HAD done something. Just the act of conjuring a new plan, made it seem, at least to me, as though I had done something productive. I never really followed through on my big ideas. But at least I had them.

My little world of dreaming-as-a-way-of-doing came to an end when I started my own business. It was there that I learned dreaming doesn’t pay the bills. In fact, dreaming doesn’t do much of anything. Ideas are a dime a dozen. Finding people who actually implement their ideas, well, that’s a different story. With slow, slow, steps, I started to become a doer. Sometimes, my steps were so small, they must have been invisible to anyone else. Becoming a doer has been terrifying at times. I have been called upon to spend money, invest in myself, invest in my business, leave my family for periods of time, and most difficult of all, peddle my wares.

But the moments of terror have pretty consistently led to moments of great pleasure; to a pride that I didn’t know I had inside me. I am creating something. I am building something. I am doing something with my one wild and precious life.

Yesterday a bridge overpass collapsed in my city. It happened fairly late in the evening and thank goodness, there was minimal traffic. One person was killed, and yet a truck driver was spared by a split instant (his trailer was completely smashed, the overpass on top of it. But his cab was unscathed, and so was he). It is moments like that, small moments, where I realize once again how precious and fragile life is. And what a walking miracle each of us are. Here only by the grace of God, and a split second. These moments remind me to keep putting myself out there. To keep dreaming, but most importantly, to keep DOING. We have only one lifetime to shine.

A few years ago, I started creating a vision board for my year. I worked on it around the holidays and by January, it was all shiny and new and hanging in my office. More recently though, I realized that a vision board is just another way to dream. So I started making mine more actionable; more specific; assigning dates and times and places to it. I realized that what I was actually creating was a road map to my year. I want to share this practice with folks. So, so, so many people I meet have no idea where they are going. They are spinning around in circles, driving without a map. I’m offering a class called "The Journey Map" to create your own map. It’s only $25 because I want to make sure it’s accessible to everybody. So if you feel like you could use a little less dreaming and a little more action in your life, join me. Just click on the link here and it will take you right over to the registration page. I would LOVE to see you there!

I hope your 2015 is off to an incredible start! xoxo, Susan


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page